Almost 300 guests celebrated the best and brightest from the air ambulance community  at the national Air Ambulance Awards of Excellence 2019.

Awards host Charlotte Hawkins, star of Good Morning Britain on ITV, handed out 12 Awards to outstanding individuals and teams, whose stories were inspirational, astounding and humbling. The awards, which are independently judged, went to pilots, paramedics, doctors, fundraisers and volunteers who collected their trophies at a ceremony held at The Chelsea Harbour Hotel last night.

An enthusiastic audience listened to the remarkable stories of each shortlisted nominee, all of whom demonstrated excellence and commitment well above and beyond the call of duty.

This year’s prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award went to David Lockey, one of the leading air ambulance doctors in the UK and the first Professor of Pre-hospital Emergency Medicine. Young Person of the Year went to Maisie Sheridan, who has overcome life-threatening injuries to not only become a volunteer fundraiser for Dorset and Somerset Air Ambulance but also its youngest ever peer supporter.

Chair of the Judging Panel, Robert Courts, former MP and current candidate for Witney and West Oxfordshire, said: “I am delighted to have chaired the Air Ambulance Awards of Excellence this year.

“I have volunteered with my local charity – Thames Valley Air Ambulance – for a number of years so have had some insight into the extraordinary level of expertise and dedication of the people working in this sector. The Awards are a wonderful way of showcasing the work of these exceptional people and organisations.”

Below is a list of all the winners:

Air Ambulance Campaign of the Year

WINNER: Dorset and Somerset Air Ambulance

Sponsor: Lottery Fundraising Services

Charity Staff Member of the Year

WINNER: Khin Latt, Great Western Air Ambulance

Sponsor: Capital Air Ambulance

Charity Volunteer of the Year

WINNER: Andrew Pearce, Lincs & Notts Air Ambulance

Sponsor: Tower Lotteries

Air Ambulance Doctor of the Year

WINNER: Dr Scott Grier, Great Western Air Ambulance

Sponsor: Leonardo Helicopters

Innovation of the Year Award

WINNER: Air Ambulance Kent Surrey Sussex

Sponsor: Sloane Helicopters

Lifetime Achievement Award

WINNER: David Lockey

Sponsor: Specialist Aviation Services

Air Ambulance Paramedic of the Year

WINNER: Vicki Brown, Great Western Air Ambulance

Sponsor: BMW Government and Authorities Division

Air Ambulance Pilot of the Year

WINNER: Neil Jeffers, London’s Air Ambulance

Sponsor: Safran UK

Special Incident Award

WINNER: Cornwall Air Ambulance

Sponsor: Airbus Helicopters

Air Operations Support Staff Member of the Year

WINNER: Kevin McGall, Cornwall Air Ambulance

Sponsor: Gama Aviation

Outstanding Young Person Award

WINNER: Maisie Sheridan, Dorset and Somerset Air Ambulance

Sponsor: Association of Air Ambulances