Air Ambulances UK

Air Ambulances UK Awards of Excellence 

About the Awards of Excellence

Air Ambulances UK’s annual Awards of Excellence returns, this time to the brand-new location of the Select Car Leasing Stadium, home of Reading FC, on 30 November 2023.  The awards provide an important opportunity to celebrate the excellence of those involved in the lifesaving work of air ambulance charities across the UK.

We look forward to a wonderful evening where we come together to recognise the outstanding achievements of charity teams, campaigns, innovations, volunteers, and young people as well as clinical and aviation excellence.

You will find all the information you need to know about this year’s awards below

2023 Award Categories Shortlist

  • Cornwall Air Ambulance Trust
  • Dorset And Somerset Air Ambulance
  • Scotland’s Charity Air Ambulance
  • Air Ambulance Northern Ireland
  • Midlands Air Ambulance Charity – Debbie Briden
  • Dorset and Somerset Air Ambulance – Caroline Guy
  • Magpas Air Ambulance – Natalie Church
  • Hampshire and Isle of Wight Air Ambulance
  • Thames Valley Air Ambulance
  • Scotland’s Charity Air Ambulance
  • Cornwall Air Ambulance Trust
  • Great Western Air Ambulance Charity – Polledri family
  • Magpas Air Ambulance – Alison McCreery
  • London’s Air Ambulance Charity – Ali Wade
  • The Air Ambulance Service – Mark Beasley
  • Magpas Air Ambulance – Steve Chambers
  • Dorset and Somerset Air Ambulance – Matt Sawyer
  • London’s Air Ambulance Charity – Chris Doyle
  • The Air Ambulance Service – Jake Turner
  • Magpas Air Ambulance – Adriana Cordier
  • Midlands Air Ambulance Charity – David Cooper
  • Hampshire and Isle of Wight Air Ambulance
  • Midlands Air Ambulance Charity
  • Essex & Herts Air Ambulance Trust
  • Magpas Air Ambulance
  • Essex & Herts Air Ambulance Trust – Alice Gardner
  • Wales Air Ambulance – Greg Browning
  • Scotland’s Charity Air Ambulance – Russ Myles
  • Cornwall Air Ambulance Trust – Rich Dixon
  • Dorset and Somerset Air Ambulance – Mario Carretta
  • Magpas Air Ambulance
  • Wiltshire Air Ambulance/Hampshire and Isle of Wight Air Ambulance/Great Western Air Ambulance Charity
  • Wales Air Ambulance
  • Lincs & Notts Air Ambulance – Molly Harris
  • Air Ambulance Northern Ireland – Madison Crawford
  • Magpas Air Ambulance – Abigail Sperrin
  • Wiltshire Air Ambulance – Chris Lear
  • Thames Valley Air Ambulance – Sarah Roberts
  • Great Western Air Ambulance Charity – Robin Jacques
  • Air Ambulance Kent Surrey Sussex – Barney Burgess
  • TBA

Judging Panel


John Christensen
Vice Chair, Air Ambulances UK


Debra Allcock Tyler
CEO of Directory of Social Change


Professor Karim Brohi
Consultant Trauma Surgeon at the Royal London Hospital Major Trauma Centre and Director of the London Major Trauma System for NHS England


Gill Jolly
Director, Achieve Consultants


Dr Syed Masud
Consultant in Emergency Medicine, Paediatric Emergency Medicine & Pre-Hospital Emergency Medicine


Paul Westaway
Director, Blue Light Aviation Limited


Members of Air Ambulances UK are eligible to enter.

Award entries should be no longer than two A4 pages in a size 11 font. Photos do not count as part of these two pages.

Charities are able to nominate in all categories, but they are limited to 1 nomination per category.

Supporting documents can be submitted, and there are some awards where this is actively encouraged.

Nominations close at 12pm on 16th August 2023.

Download the relevant form(s) from our website or click the category link and complete and return by the deadline.

The Awards of Excellence will be held on the evening of Thursday 30 November 2023.

No, this year we are delighted to be holding an in-person only event.

Yes, you will be notified by email and sent further details.

We hope all our nominees can attend the ceremony or will be able to nominate a colleague to collect the award on their behalf, but we will arrange delivery of awards and certificates for any winners who are not in attendance.

Tickets will be launched in the coming weeks.

There will be a photographer, and photos will be taking during the event and of all award winners. Please ensure your nominee is happy to have their photo taken.

2022 Awards of Excellence Winners

You can read all about all of the 2022 Awards of Excellence winners and nominees and their fantastic contributions. Our independent judging panel had some tough decisions to make when selecting the winners. All the nominees in all categories, those shortlisted, and the winners are all part of one community which works together to be there for their local communities at their time of need.  A huge thank you to all staff, volunteers and supporters in our innovative lifesaving community.

Use the button below to read all about the 2022 Awards of Excellence Winners and those Highly Commended!